The District name is a combination of two Malayalam words Pathanam and thitta, which together mean ‘array of houses on the river side’. The capital cityPathanamthitta Town is located on the banks of river Achenkovil. Pathanamthitta District came in to existence on 1st November, 1982. The formation was done by incorporating various portions of the erstwhile Kollam, Alappuzha and Idukki Districts, while the taluks Adoor, Ranni, Konni and Kozhenchery were taken from Kollam district, Thiruvalla and Mallappally were taken from Alappuzha district.   The District is divided into two Revenue Divisions, Six Taluks and 70 Villages.  Revenue Division Adoor comprising of Kozhenchery and Adoor and Konni taluks and Thiruvalla Revenue Division consisting of Thiruvalla,  Mallappally and Ranni Taluks. Pathanamthitta District is bounded on the north by Kottayam and Idukki, on the west by Alappuzha and Kollam Districts and on the south by Kollam District. To the eastern side of the District is the State of Tamil Nadu.

Location and extent

Pathanamthitta is a landlocked District lying between the north latitudes 90 02’30” and 90 28’30” and 760 37’30” and 770 17’30” East longitudes. The district has an area of 2637 square kilometers with a total population of 1195537. The population in the District is around 3.58 percent of the State population and ranked 12th position in the State. As per 2011 census, sex ratio in the District is 1132 per1000 males 2nd in the State followed by Kannur District. The density of population is 452 per sq.kms. The decadal census shows an increasing tendency in the density of population. SC and ST population comes 13.7 % and 0.7% respectively to the total District population.

Pathanamthitta district ranked 1st in literacy rate in 2011 census with 96.93%.Male literacy rate in the District is 97.70%, ranked 2nd in the State followed by Alappuzha District and Female literacy is 96.26% which positioned the District 1st among other districts. Child population in the age group 0-6 is coming down to 7.65 percent from 10.29 percent in 2001 census.

District Industries Center Pathanamthitta is Located at Kozhenchery, under this office Three Taluk Industries offices are there at Thiruvalla, Pathanamthitta and adoor.

 Thiruvalla. Taluk Industries Office.

1. Thiruvalla Municipality.

2. Koipurum Block.

3. Mallapally Block.etc

4. Pulikeezhu Block.


 Pathanamthitta Taluk Industries Office.

1. Pathanamthitta Municipality.

2. Elanthoor Block.

3. Ranni Block.

4. Konni Block.

 Adoor Taluk Industries Office.  

1. Adoor Municipality.

2. Parakode Block.  

3. Pandalam Block.

Copyright Official website of Directorate of Industries & Commerce Designed & Developed by :: Keltron
Portal & content owned by IT Division Directorate of Industries and Commerce vikas Bhavan ,Thiruvananthapuram